Home > X-Ray film retention
in all other states
Oregon state law for x-ray film and other medical records retention period.
State law of Oregon require health care and hospitals to keep their x-ray film and medical record for at least 10 years after the date you are discharged.
Please note that the federal law requires a retention period of 5-7 years for adults and up to 19 years old for minors, there law includes different requirements for hospitals and health care providers, there might be a different law for x-ray films and other medical records.
Disclaimer: The information for retaining periods of x-ray films in OR, brought as courtesy for our silver recovery customers. the information was collected from department of health website and other online resources, however, B.W. recycling, Inc is not responsible for the accuracy of the information on this page and might not be up to date.
HIPAA rule for disposing of x-ray films.
Please note that HIPAA left the responsibility for the x-ray film disposal process with the physicians / facilities, and also gave physicians / facilities the choice of doing an on-site or off-site destruction, however, HIPAA rule does state that the disposal of x ray films and other medical records must be done in a way that preserves the confidentiality of the information.
If you have x-ray film you would like to recycle, please visit our Oregon x-ray film disposal page.
© Copyright B.W. Recycling, Inc (BWR), 2021. All Rights Reserved.